PDA

View Full Version : Website downtime / changing servers



Nicklfire
07-09-2013, 01:41 PM
Hey all,

At this point going forward if you see the website is down or info is wrong or anything odd it's likely because we are changing servers and going to a higher grade and higher speed server which should fix any issues with speed we might have been having. I need to get onto a seperate server so i can add new sites in the future as well if needed.

Thanks for your patience and i will update this thread once we are totally done, i'll try to limit any big issues.

Thanks,

Shawn

Nicklfire
07-09-2013, 05:06 PM
If you guys can read this that means you are viewing wackedout on the NEW server. for the next 12-24 hours dont be surprised if you revert back to the old (closed) site now and then, that's just how DNS propogation works :) As long as the board is open then you know your on the correct site :)

Nicklfire
07-09-2013, 05:51 PM
some thing you can do to help is the following:

1) clear your browser history and cache

2) flush the dns settings (go to cmd prompt , type ipconfig /flushdns )

Mindfield
07-09-2013, 06:47 PM
Site's working for me. Wee! Seems faster, too.

Nubbie
07-09-2013, 08:04 PM
seems to be rocking along without issue at the moment.

Mandi
07-09-2013, 08:39 PM
Ooh nice and quick now. I like

VapeMate.com
07-10-2013, 04:25 AM
Yes very quick! :)

MrTGun
07-10-2013, 04:54 AM
No love for me. Perhaps the server at the office could be the issue, or maybe on the ISP end. Cookies and cache cleared, no dice as of yet. Tapatalk cruising right along with no issue however.

TG

Jetalito
07-10-2013, 05:52 AM
Working great here to. Much faster.

ScootsieCollins
07-10-2013, 08:57 AM
I have no issues accessing the site via desktop, but when using tapatalk on my android it still shows the site as closed. I've removed the forum and account and re-added it as well.

MrTGun
07-10-2013, 08:58 AM
Back in action on desktop/chrome!

~TG

Kubrick
07-10-2013, 10:15 AM
Noticeably quicker for me on iPad. It had become very slow before.

Nicklfire
07-10-2013, 08:54 PM
It has been 24 hours and for most people the switch over should be done. DNS propogation can take up to 72 hours i believe they say in worst case scenario but it seems like it's been quicker on this change over.

let me know if you see anything odd, or let me know how the speed is

Jetalito
07-11-2013, 05:16 AM
Spead is much better. No waiting.

Fourtwozero
07-11-2013, 05:17 AM
What happened to tapatalk?

vapingbutterfly
07-11-2013, 06:10 AM
What happened to tapatalk?

Im using tapatalk with no problem. Go into your settings and try clearing your cache. :-)

Fourtwozero
07-11-2013, 06:57 AM
Im using tapatalk with no problem. Go into your settings and try clearing your cache. :-)

Ended up having to reinstall the app. Running ios7 beta and having more issues then most :P

Nemesis
07-12-2013, 05:35 AM
Im using tapatalk with no problem. Go into your settings and try clearing your cache. :-)

No issues here on BB Z10

Panic
07-12-2013, 12:01 PM
Wow was going through worse withdrawal from the site than I ever had quitting analogs. Just propagated for me an hour ago. That was a tough three days.

Edit: Nope, never mind. It still hasn't shown up on my regular (cellular) ip. I'm at Starbucks and it's fine. As soon as I leave here I will be without. Sadness…

Nicklfire
07-12-2013, 12:01 PM
Three days wow lol. Maybe people were on the morning after.

- shawn

Panic
07-12-2013, 12:48 PM
I just reset the network settings on my cell and erased my cookies/network history. Still no luck. Sometimes I hate living in the boonies. See you when my network catches up!

ghostworld
07-12-2013, 01:04 PM
I can't access the forums on my computer at work. But everything works fine on my phone, iPad and home computer. But I'm not at work today, so hopefully Monday all will be fine. I need something fun to read while I'm on my lunch!

Nemesis
07-12-2013, 03:15 PM
I can't access WO from home anymore , well I can trough the VPN but trough normal dns I get page can't open.
I guess some DNS servers are way slower than others.

Just for fun got an Malaysia IP and works fine... my Canadian /Quebec providers does not...


124.217.250.xxx
Country: Malaysia
ISP: Noneyourbusiness

Nemesis
07-12-2013, 03:31 PM
So more troubleshooting , changed DNS servers from Google to my provider and still no luck.
Looks like an issue with website server rejecting the connection from my ISP provider... weird.

larktdl
07-13-2013, 05:21 AM
Pain, pain, pain. Using webproxy.ca to access WO. If I don't use webproxy.ca, I can't access the web site using chrome or IE. Changed DNS (OpenDNS, Google DNS), no change. When I did use OpenDNS, I got the web site from the old server.

Ciphery
07-13-2013, 06:09 AM
The old server sucked! I could type a whole sentence then watch it apear letter by letter, pause..... Leter, leter, word....and that was the mobile version on my BB
Seems better now

Nemesis
07-13-2013, 07:57 AM
I you have issues you can use a free VPN service or pay for a web only VPN until the problem is solved.

http://www.hotspotshield.com/lp/free_vpn_wm5/

http://www.justfreevpn.com/

http://www.freecanadavpn.com/

Paid VPN

Astrill :

https://www.astrill.com/

IBVPN :

http://www.ibvpn.com/

randomname
07-13-2013, 08:53 PM
I can access from mobile network but not from my house, I've reset everything and no go

Nemesis
07-14-2013, 05:45 AM
I can access from mobile network but not from my house, I've reset everything and no go

Same here , use a VPN server and you should be able to access the site from home too.

larktdl
07-15-2013, 08:26 PM
Okay, enough is enough. How long does it take any ISP to update the DNS. I still can't get on WO from my home computer, any home computer. Odd to say the least ...

Does anyone have any ideas how to resolve this problem?

randomname
07-16-2013, 02:15 AM
I was going to suggest changing the DNS but I see that's been done. Just found out rogers is crap so I might do that anyways lol.

Nemesis
07-16-2013, 04:22 AM
Okay, enough is enough. How long does it take any ISP to update the DNS. I still can't get on WO from my home computer, any home computer. Odd to say the least ...

Does anyone have any ideas how to resolve this problem?
24-48 hrs usually ,

The problem is not with ISP but with the new host used by WO. See below the traceroute I performed trough the VPN and then without the VPN ,
they reach same node and then goes into canhost.ca ,the hosting service where it times out the request


With VPN
9 84 ms 83 ms 84 ms 75.154.208.199
10 82 ms 85 ms 93 ms 154.11.44.210
11 85 ms 85 ms 83 ms 208.181.232.109
12 84 ms 87 ms 83 ms incore01.canhost.com [66.209.176.3]
13 83 ms 86 ms 83 ms infw01.canhost.com [66.209.176.9]
14 82 ms 83 ms 82 ms indist01.canhost.com [66.209.176.14]
15 83 ms 84 ms 84 ms PM205host-66-209-176-143.canhost.ca [66.209.176.
143]
16 83 ms 84 ms 84 ms host-66-209-177-43.canhost.ca [66.209.177.43]
Trace complete.



Without VPN
8 75 ms 75 ms 77 ms 75.154.208.199
9 76 ms 75 ms 75 ms 154.11.44.242
10 75 ms 75 ms 75 ms 208.181.232.109
11 75 ms 75 ms 75 ms incore01.canhost.com [66.209.176.3]
12 76 ms 75 ms 76 ms infw01.canhost.com [66.209.176.9]
13 79 ms 75 ms 75 ms indist01.canhost.com [66.209.176.14]
14 77 ms 77 ms 82 ms PM205host-66-209-176-143.canhost.ca [66.209.176.143]
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 85 ms 84 ms 87 ms host-66-209-177-43.canhost.ca [66.209.177.43]

Trace complete.

As you can see it get's there eventually but because it times out so long the browser will not wait for it

Fourtwozero
07-16-2013, 05:14 AM
I can connect though my home wifi... Any other time I'm screwd.... :(

larktdl
07-16-2013, 05:43 AM
24-48 hrs usually ,

The problem is not with ISP but with the new host used by WO. See below the traceroute I performed trough the VPN and then without the VPN ,
they reach same node and then goes into canhost.ca ,the hosting service where it times out the request






As you can see it get's there eventually but because it times out so long the browser will not wait for it

I did the same tests: Same results you are reporting.

I can use a proxy web server or VPN connection to get on WO from home but why should I need to do this? Might be a good temporary fix but this type of connection is not a permanent solution (I hope).

Nemesis
07-16-2013, 07:37 AM
I did the same tests: Same results you are reporting.

I can use a proxy web server or VPN connection to get on WO from home but why should I need to do this? Might be a good temporary fix but this type of connection is not a permanent solution (I hope).

It's an obvious issue at the hosting company side IMHO , so no matter how many times you clean the cache or change your DNS will not do much to fix it.

Nicklfire
07-16-2013, 09:13 AM
The host was the same as previous. We switched servers not hosts. We changed ips but it was a slight change in the number. I'll do some digging.

If it was a hosting server issue it would effect everyone not just a few people.
- shawn

Vaper_Dave
07-16-2013, 09:19 AM
It feels faster than it used to be for me?

Nemesis
07-16-2013, 09:22 AM
The host was the same as previous. We switched servers not hosts. We changed ips but it was a slight change in the number. I'll do some digging.

If it was a hosting server issue it would effect everyone not just a few people.
- shawn

Hey Nicklfire , just trying to help mostly for people who are not computer savvy.
There is definitely something with the host because the Request timed out is inside their network
as shown by the trace and it was repeatable.

Nicklfire
07-16-2013, 10:30 AM
Trust me I appreciate the help. I will use your info provided to talk to them

- shawn

Nemesis
07-16-2013, 04:16 PM
Trust me I appreciate the help. I will use your info provided to talk to them

- shawn
Hey Shawn , Here is some fresh data :


Tracing route to host-66-209-177-43.canhost.ca [66.209.177.43]
over a maximum of 30 hops:


8 76 ms 76 ms 85 ms 75.154.208.199
9 119 ms 76 ms 77 ms 154.11.44.242
10 76 ms 76 ms 77 ms 208.181.232.109
11 76 ms 75 ms 75 ms incore01.canhost.com [66.209.176.3]
12 78 ms 76 ms 78 ms infw01.canhost.com [66.209.176.9]
13 76 ms 76 ms 76 ms indist01.canhost.com [66.209.176.14]
14 76 ms 94 ms 76 ms PM205host-66-209-176-143.canhost.ca [66.209.176.143]
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

larktdl
07-16-2013, 04:46 PM
Here is trace report ...

Tracing route to www.wackedoutecig.ca [66.209.177.43]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 2 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.254
2 26 ms 7 ms 12 ms 10.145.232.1
3 33 ms 35 ms 35 ms 75.154.208.199
4 34 ms 34 ms 38 ms 154.11.44.242
5 33 ms 39 ms 35 ms 208.181.232.109
6 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms incore01.canhost.com [66.209.176.3]
7 35 ms 34 ms 33 ms infw01.canhost.com [66.209.176.9]
8 34 ms 34 ms 33 ms indist01.canhost.com [66.209.176.14]
9 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms PM205host-66-209-176-143.canhost.ca [66.209.176.
143]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

Nicklfire
07-17-2013, 09:44 AM
The people who are having issues can I get your ip addresses please

- shawn

Panic
07-17-2013, 01:32 PM
My ip is always changing as I only seem to have issues on my mobile devices. Last time I had an issue it was 24.114.38.250 looking now I have the same ip with no issue. Odd.

Nicklfire
07-18-2013, 09:21 AM
I talked to the host and it seems like there were some ip's blocked by the firewall. We removed the entries as many as we thought were legit requests. Anyone who was having issues can you try again. If you still have issues please explain the issues you are having and email me your ip address (shawn AT wackedoutecig.ca) .

thanks for all involved with the help

larktdl
07-18-2013, 11:00 AM
Excellent. I will give it a go from home pc tonight. Thanks Shawn.

Nemesis
07-18-2013, 02:45 PM
It's ALIVE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It works now :)

larktdl
07-18-2013, 04:38 PM
Yip, It is alive again! Thanks Shawn.

randomname
07-18-2013, 06:03 PM
yup i'm working normal again too, excellent work shawn

tippy
07-18-2013, 06:40 PM
I could connect fine until last night but can now only access with my phone (without wifi). I'll email my IP address.

tippy
07-20-2013, 11:17 AM
Still can't connect at home. Tippy is sad :-(

Nicklfire
07-20-2013, 02:14 PM
What's ur ip tippy

- shawn

tippy
07-20-2013, 04:15 PM
According to whatismyip.com it is 24.69.36.152

tippy
07-21-2013, 09:47 PM
Tracing route to wackedoutecig.ca [66.209.177.43]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 10 ms 14 ms 11 ms tl11mt.gv.shawcable.net [64.59.164.35]
3 17 ms 11 ms 11 ms rd1cv-ge3-0.gv.shawcable.net [66.163.72.6]
4 17 ms 15 ms 16 ms 66.163.68.197
5 18 ms 16 ms 19 ms rc2wh-tge0-8-1-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.69.117
]
6 17 ms 14 ms 14 ms 154.11.2.85
7 22 ms 23 ms 25 ms 75.154.208.199
8 24 ms 26 ms 28 ms 154.11.44.210
9 21 ms 25 ms 25 ms 208.181.232.109
10 22 ms 23 ms 21 ms incore01.canhost.com [66.209.176.3]
11 26 ms 23 ms 24 ms infw01.canhost.com [66.209.176.9]
12 25 ms 23 ms 24 ms indist01.canhost.com [66.209.176.14]
13 28 ms 24 ms 26 ms PM205host-66-209-176-143.canhost.ca [66.209.176.
143]
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

tippy
07-25-2013, 06:32 PM
In case anyone cares, I still can't connect and my tracert still looks the same as above. This proxy server is annoyingly slow, so I have no idea if this will note post or not. Tippy is still sad. :-(


....yes, I do see the irony of my avatar vs this post. :-)

Nicklfire
07-26-2013, 06:47 AM
Can you post our current ip again bud. I do care :-)

- shawn

tippy
07-26-2013, 01:11 PM
Thanks for caring Shawn. :-)

Ip is 24.69.36.152

tippy
07-26-2013, 10:09 PM
WOOHOO!! I'm back!!! Thank you Shawn :kiss:

Nicklfire
07-28-2013, 07:19 AM
Was blocked by firewall apparantly.

- shawn

>